Having Your Cake and Eating It Too

3720165980_cb09acc36b_oThe food industry has convinced many of us of the need to buy food from fancy schmancy groceries stores that charge a premium for “wholesome” food.

I am here to tell you that you can afford to eat delicious and nutritious food and not break the bank. Here are five places you can go to in place of your uber expensive chain grocer.

1. Consider going to a discount grocery store like Aldi.

When I was in college my roommates and I use to make runs to an Aldi out in the barrio. I had stopped once I thought I was too fancy for the store, when I started receiving local ads from my neighborhood Aldi, I came back to the fold, and boy had I been missing out.

So, what is so great about Aldi? First off, it is the sister store to Trader Joe’s. You can get the “generic” of many name brands products including those stocked at Trader Joe’s. You can also get good quality meat, dairy, and produce at a very affordable price. The meat and dairy are generally great deals, the produce, I’ll admit can be hit or miss. They also offer many organic products for whatever that is worth to you.

2. Local bulk grocers or stores like Sprout.

Stores like Sprouts, Natural Grocers, and local bulk grocers off affordable fresh fruit. From my experience the prices are much cheaper than whole foods, especially when it comes to fruit, veggies, and bulk food purchases.

3. Warehouse membership

What can I say, Costco is a great place to buy bulk non-perishables and large amounts of meet. My wife and I will typically buy a large amount on sale, divide it into smaller portions and freeze them for use later. We also like the Costco savings on gasoline, we have not tried out their insurance or mortgage refinance options but have heard great things about them as well.

4. Public Market/Farmer’s Market

My wife and I love the Public Market/Farmers Market, it allows us to support local business and growers. Prices for older groceries are significantly cheaper. We also like buying in season produce from local farmers. In addition to purchases, it is great entertainment and an opportunity to connect with your community.

5. Do it yourself at home- edible gardens, free range chicken, etc.

I have also started home gardening this is my second season and so far with all the rain the plants have been growing well. The vegetables that we have already harvested have been so much tastier than anything we can buy. Nothing like freshly picked food! Also, composting has also helped us save the environment while saving money on fertilizer. Hoping to start free range chicken farming to start harvesting my own eggs.

 

So do any of you use this, or have suggestion for other ways to save money on food while not sacrificing quality? Let me know and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

